The baroque town of Amorbach offers with its former Benedictine Abbey, consisting of Princely Abbey church and convent, a prominent attraction.
Amorbach became a town in 1253 and has been the home of the royal family of Leiningen since 1803. Amorbach became well-known for its more than 1250 year old Benedictine Abbey which was founded by traditions from the first abbot Amor 734 and received its present splendor in the middle of the 18th century. The original Romanesque abbey church was replaced by Maximilian von Welsch by an imposing baroque building. The Princely Abbey is after recent extensive conservation and restoration works now again fully available for worship and sightseeing. The baroque church is characterized by the greatest ornamental abundance which was created by the leading south German artists. The organ from the workshop of the Stumm brothers is one of the largest in Europe with 5116 pipes and a "Glockenspiel". The monastery building with its magnificent early classicist style halls - complete only a few years before the secularization - Green Banquet Hall, Refektorium and Library, served from 1803 as a royal residence and today offers a truly unique setting for events. The ensemble also includes the "Seegarten", a park designed by Friedrich Ludwig von Sckell.
Organ concerts, Organ prelude for groups on request, tours also in English available