Museum im Gotischen Haus,
Tannenwaldweg 102, 61350Bad Homburg vor der Höhe
2 for 1 with the RheinMainCard
The building dates back to the first half of the 19th century and is home to a museum, the town archives of Bad Homburg and a café
The museum offers an interesting look at the history of the town and landgraviate. The hat museum traces the cultural history of headwear - with, of course, the legendary Homburg hat as its focal point- and is the only one of its kind in Germany. The charming garden salon is the venue for events such as readings, lectures and concerts. The town archives, the "town´s memory" safeguard valuable historic books, documents, photos and drawings. Visitors are always welcome. The archives can be examined free of charge in the reading room on the first floor. The café at the Gothic House offers refreshments during the opening hours of the museum to recharge the batteries after visiting the museum or town archives, or after strolling through the Landgrave´s Gardens of which Gothic´s House forms a part of. The Gothic House was built as a hunting lodge between 1823 and 1828 during the reign of Landgrave Friedrich VI Joseph and his wife Elizabeth, a member of the English Royal Family. Its unusual architecture combines Tudor Gothic and neo-Classical styles.