Dominant building in the town and seat of the municipal government.
The Kloppberg is the perfect place for a castle or fortification. The entire hill was once part of a defensive belt surrounded by a wall, in which the small town of Bingium was located. In 355 AD the fortification fell victim to the Alemanni. The following centuries affected the hill badly. Castles were built and destroyed. In 1282 the name of Klopp Castle was first mentioned in an official document. The picturesque ruin became a popular destination during the era of Rhine Romanticism. It was not until the middle of the last century that the wealthy merchant Ludwig Cron from Cologne began the lavish reconstruction. In 1897 the castle came into the possession of the town of Bingen. Since that time it has been the seat of the mayor and municipal government. Badly destroyed during World War II, the castle has become one of the most beautiful landmarks again.